"After a Few": Travis Denning hits number one

Mercury Nashville Travis Denning has achieved a career accomplishment this week as his single, "After a Few," hits number one on the country charts.

The tune has reached the number-one spot on the Billboard Country Airplay chart, marking Travis' first visit to the top spot there. Co-written by the singer, Kelly Archer and Justin Weaver, "After a Few" is Travis' second career single following his 2018 debut, "David Ashley Parker from Powder Springs." 

“I’m so grateful for this number one. To see it get up the charts was a dream come true that I first had when I was 14 years old,” Travis reflects. "This has only helped fuel the fire to want to get back on the road and sing country music for some country-lovin’ people.”

"After a Few" is featured on Travis' latest EP, Beer's Better Cold, which dropped on May 15. As a songwriter, he co-wrote Michael Ray's 2019 single "Her World or Mine," and additional cuts by Jason AldeanJustin Moore and Chase Rice.

By Cillea Houghton
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Check Also

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out Friday

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out FridayABC/Image Group LAOld Dominion are gearing up to share more new music, and from the snippet they posted to social media this week, the next song they’ve got coming is a flirty, tropical summertime anthem.

“This is one y’all haven’t ever heard yet,” the group revealed on social media, posting a 30-second clip of their new song along with a portion of the lyrics. Called “Everything to Lose,” the tune focuses on the early stages of a new relationship.

“Everything that you do is driving me crazy / Dancing and singing along and it’s catching my ear, catching my eye,” the song begins. “Think that it’s been long enough, girl, you know I ain’t playing / So let’s blow this popsicle stand, girl, and kiss it goodbye...”

“Everything to Lose” will be the first taste of previously unheard music from Old Dominion since May, when they dropped three older songs that they’d written for previous projects but that didn’t make the cut.

The band released their self-titled third album in October of last year. That project includes hits like “Make it Sweet” and “One Man Band.”

By Carena Liptak
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

This is one y'all haven't ever heard yet. #everythingtolose is out tonight. #previouslyunreleased pic.twitter.com/L7kiYjHsk0

— Old Dominion (@OldDominion) July 2, 2020