Attorney General Announces List of States Entitled To Georgia’s Firearm Permits

South Carolina Added by Attorney General Olens to List of States Entitled to Georgia’s Firearm Permit Reciprocity

June 6, 2016

Atlanta, GA- Today, Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens announced an addition to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation initially passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of South Carolina has determined that it will honor Georgia firearms permits. Therefore, effective immediately, Georgia recognizes firearms permits issued by South Carolina.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.


Check Also

Man loses end of nose in knife attack; woman arrested

Elbert County Sheriff Melvin Andrews has announced the arrest of an Elberton woman in connection …