Early Voting Begins

Early voting for the 2018 general election will begin Today and continue through Nov. 2. All voters throughout Elbert County have the opportunity to vote early at the Registrar’s Office at 45 Forest Ave. in Elberton from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and on Saturday, Oct. 27, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Two contested races for Elbert County offices will be on the ballot. Republican Lee Vaughn and Democrat Thomas Allgood are the candidates for chairman of the Elbert County Board of Commissioners, while Republican Casey Freeman and Democrat Kam McClary are vying for the District 2 Commissioner’s post.

A number of statewide elections, headlined by the race for governor between Republican Secretary of State Brian Kemp and former House Minority Leader, Democrat Stacey Abrams, will be contested. Elbert County native Otha Thornton is the Democratic challenger to Republican incumbent Richard Woods for state school superintendent. Voters will also decide on five proposed amendments to the Georgia constitution and two statewide referendums.

Chief Registrar Charlotte Ward reminds voters that mail-in absentee ballots are available upon request. Call 706-283-2012, and an application will be sent for you to sign and return.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6. Voting will be held at the county’s 11 precinct locations from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. A photo ID is required to vote whether voting early or on Election Day.

Check Also

Broad River neighbors seek solutions to stop waste dumping

By Linton Johnson linton@wsgcradio.com Residents of Elbert, Lincoln, Wilkes and Oglethorpe Counties gathered at the …