‘Heart Theory’: Lindsay Ell journeys through the stages of grief in her just-announced sophomore album

Jeremy CowartLindsay Ell has unveiled the details behind her much-anticipated upcoming sophomore record, explaining that the project is a concept album navigating heartache and loss. Called Heart Theory, the new batch of tunes is due out August 14.

“If theory is the science of music, heart theory is the science of the heart,” the singer reflects. “I hope this road map can be a comfort if you need it, reassurance when you need to remember to believe in yourself or maybe just a glimpse into a memory that’s made you who you are.”

Rooted deep in Lindsay’s own personal experience, Heart Theory’s 12-song track list includes the previously released ballad, “I Don’t Love You.”

She recruited some serious songwriting star power to help write the new music: Kane Brown and Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard are just two of the big names who make appearances in the album's songwriting credits.

It’s been three years since Lindsay last shared new music, and she’s not wasting any time introducing her next chapter to fans. To celebrate the album announcement, she’ll drop a new song tonight called “Want Me Back.”

Pre-ordering for Heart Theory also begins tonight.

By Carena Liptak
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Check Also

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out Friday

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out FridayABC/Image Group LAOld Dominion are gearing up to share more new music, and from the snippet they posted to social media this week, the next song they’ve got coming is a flirty, tropical summertime anthem.

“This is one y’all haven’t ever heard yet,” the group revealed on social media, posting a 30-second clip of their new song along with a portion of the lyrics. Called “Everything to Lose,” the tune focuses on the early stages of a new relationship.

“Everything that you do is driving me crazy / Dancing and singing along and it’s catching my ear, catching my eye,” the song begins. “Think that it’s been long enough, girl, you know I ain’t playing / So let’s blow this popsicle stand, girl, and kiss it goodbye...”

“Everything to Lose” will be the first taste of previously unheard music from Old Dominion since May, when they dropped three older songs that they’d written for previous projects but that didn’t make the cut.

The band released their self-titled third album in October of last year. That project includes hits like “Make it Sweet” and “One Man Band.”

By Carena Liptak
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

This is one y'all haven't ever heard yet. #everythingtolose is out tonight. #previouslyunreleased pic.twitter.com/L7kiYjHsk0

— Old Dominion (@OldDominion) July 2, 2020