Scotty McCreery is "In Between" number-one hits

Jeff RayScotty McCreery has locked in another number-one hit with "In Between."

The introspective song, co-written by Scotty, Jessi AlexanderJonathan Singleton and Frank Rogers, tops the Billboard Country Airplay chart this week. That makes Scotty's third consecutive number-one single, following in the footsteps of "This Is It" and "Five More Minutes."

The trio of songs is from from Scotty's album Seasons Change, which debuted in the number-one slot on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart in 2018. 

Of note, "In Between" marks the second longest climb to the top spot in the Country Airplay chart's 30-history. With its 63-week ascent to number-one, Scotty is right behind Travis Denning's recently set record: His single "After a Few" took 65 weeks to reach the top. 

“Earning a number one record on ‘In Between,’ which is a song that defines me, is amazing. I loved writing this song with Frank, Jessi and Jonathan and telling my story,” Scotty says. “Earning three number one songs in a row is the perfect way to celebrate Seasons Change and how that album changed my life." 

The American Idol champion is currently working on new music for his fifth studio album. 

By Cillea Houghton
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Check Also

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out Friday

Old Dominion teases breezy new “Everything to Lose,” due out FridayABC/Image Group LAOld Dominion are gearing up to share more new music, and from the snippet they posted to social media this week, the next song they’ve got coming is a flirty, tropical summertime anthem.

“This is one y’all haven’t ever heard yet,” the group revealed on social media, posting a 30-second clip of their new song along with a portion of the lyrics. Called “Everything to Lose,” the tune focuses on the early stages of a new relationship.

“Everything that you do is driving me crazy / Dancing and singing along and it’s catching my ear, catching my eye,” the song begins. “Think that it’s been long enough, girl, you know I ain’t playing / So let’s blow this popsicle stand, girl, and kiss it goodbye...”

“Everything to Lose” will be the first taste of previously unheard music from Old Dominion since May, when they dropped three older songs that they’d written for previous projects but that didn’t make the cut.

The band released their self-titled third album in October of last year. That project includes hits like “Make it Sweet” and “One Man Band.”

By Carena Liptak
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

This is one y'all haven't ever heard yet. #everythingtolose is out tonight. #previouslyunreleased

— Old Dominion (@OldDominion) July 2, 2020